Blogging Forgottonia

Musings from the hinterlands

Humbug to Lincoln Intermediate School Dance

leave a comment »


Am I a stodgy old coot for thinking that it’s totally inappropriate for 4th, 5th & 6th graders to have a school-sponsored semi-formal after school dance?  Lincoln Intermediate School is having a school dance on February 5th.  We had to tell our 4th grader, who just turned 10, that she can’t go to this dance … and she has a January birthday, so she’s one of the older kids in her class!

I am not an especially conservative person, and those who know me certainly wouldn’t consider me  a prude.  I floated this situation through my FacebookTwitter social network, and most of the responses I received were equally incredulous.  In my opinion, dances are not an appropriate after school activity for middle school children.  What about a game night, or a winter carnival, or a movie night – something more appropriate for 9-12 year olds???  There are many forces in our society that encourage children to grow up too quickly.  I really don’t think that our public schools should contribute to that problem.

Written by Matthew

January 21, 2010 at 12:22 am

Leave a Reply

